Solved

How to use RegEX while writing the rules for extracting a sender name

• 16 November 2021
  • 1 reply

Userlevel 2
Badge

Hi I would like to know how to use a RegEx pattern while writing rules in the expert.ai studio. Here is an example of the sender name that I would like to retreive from an email

I would like to retrieve Venkat from Raedan AI and I think I can only retrieve this by using RegEx Pattern in my rules.

I am new to Regex and would like to know how to write a rule to extract Venkat from Raedan AI in between From: and <

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Venkat

icon

Best answer by Nico 18 November 2021, 16:17

View original

1 reply

Badge

Hi Venkat,

there are many ways of doing that, according to the level of “strictness” you want to keep. This is a simple rule that does the trick:

SCOPE SENTENCE{    IDENTIFY(EMAIL)    {        @SenderName[PATTERN("From: ([^<]{2,50}) <[^@]+@[^>]+>")]    }}

Given a sentence like 

this will extract exactly

Venkat from Raedan AI

Here’s how the PATTERN content works (ignore the parentheses for the moment):

• First it matches “From: “ (including a blank space at the end:
  • Then it looks for  [^<]{2,50}  a sequence of characters, long from 2 to 50 (just an example), which is the name. Any character is fine except the “<”. The [^<] means “the set of all characters excluding “<”. The {2, 50} is the minimum and maximum number of repetitions.
  • After that it expects a space, then the “<”
  • Then a sequence of character  [^@]+  excluding “@” (same as above), the + means “one or more”.
  • Then the actual “@”
  • Then again  [^>]+ a sequence of characters excluding “>”
  • and finally the “>”

So this pattern will match your whole line, “From: …...com>”. The informal meaning is: look for “From: “ then some text (not too much), then a “<”, then again some text, a “@”, some text again and finally a “>”.

Now, the two parentheses in the pattern define a capturing group. In this case it’s ([^<]{2,50})